In which your intrepid correspondent tries his hand at consulting

October 12, 2009 at 11:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

After three decades (ouch) of full-time employment, I recently found myself restructured out of my job as Vice President for Publishing and Communications at the New York Academy of Sciences. Given the way the world is these days, I’m in good company. I wish the Academy and its terrific staff nothing but the greatest success.

I’ve chosen to take this little bump in the road as a sign that I should try something different. So I’m embarking on a midlife career change and taking up strategic publishing and communications consulting, something I’ve been doing in one form or another in my last four full-time jobs in the health, medical, policy and professional education arenas.

My goal is to do what I can to help non-profits — professional societies, associations, advocacy groups, foundations and the like — better harness their communications resources and “storytelling” capacity to more effectively reach key audiences. And, since I’ve been there since the beginning, applying online opportunities will be my focus.

I have a number of colleagues and friends who have been in this space for several years now, and they are wizards at it. Hopefully there will be a little room for me to join them in doing good work. Thankfully, a few brave souls have agreed to take me on, and perhaps more will follow.

But enough pitching. I plan to use this space to provide what I hope will be useful observations about developments and trends in strategic communications and publishing in the non-profit sector. I welcome all comments and advice.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

